Calling All Victory Gals

Hello, again.  My name is Piper Springs, and I love to sew from vintage patterns.  I’m sure you won’t be surprised that for the IPM New to Me challenge I chose a pattern from the fabulous Decades of Style pattern company.  They print reproductions of historical designs and you can find them here:

Decades of Style Patterns

My original inspiration came from a 1940s Sears Catalog:

Sears 40s overalls ed

I found a very close pattern match for this photos in the 1930s Sweetheart Overalls.  The Decades website tells us that this pattern was originally sewn up in cotton or rayon and worn as beach pajamas, but I had no difficulty imagining an enterprising woman from the WWII era pulling out the pattern from her mum’s sewing box and making it up in chambray, as I did, to make herself a pair of coveralls. I used some scrap fabric to line the top as described in the instructions.

sweatheart overalls 1

Fabric:  Lightweight denim chambray and cotton gingham

Notions:  Two vintage buttons from my stash, navy zipper for back zip

Alterations:  None made.  Next time I would extend the back straps to come further down in the front.  As is, the straps button at the top of the shoulder on me.

Instructions:  This pattern made up like a dream.  The instructions were easy to follow, and I would recommend it to anyone who can put in a zip.

sweetheart o white (1)

I feel cute and retro in my overalls.  I doubt I will actually garden or do any factory work in them, but you never know…..

I have a second version planned with a slightly altered waistband and bib.  Come by and say hey at my blog Piper Feeds the Dogs for more vintage makes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

