A Pattern from Paris

Hullo, everyone! Raise your hand if you wait all year for Indie Pattern Month at The Monthly Stitch.  Me, too! Or perhaps I will say moi, aussi as I am sharing a dress from a French indie pattern company for the dress challenge. I sewed up the Frida Dress from Wear Lemonade, which is based in the 10th arrondissement in Paris. www.makelemonade.com

wear lemonade packaging 2
A package from Paris!

This company is run by the lovely Lisa, who started as a fashion/lifestyle blogger, then developed a fashion line called Wear Lemonade. She releases a limited line of women’s fashions each season, and toward the end of the season releases patterns for some of her designs.  I had some vintage cotton that was calling to be made into a modern shirtdress pattern like Frida.

frida outfit (2)
The Frida Dress

I made a couple of alterations.  First I added 3 inches in length to the skirt.  This is one inch more than my standard alteration.  Second, I could not find a 2 inch buckle for the self belt, so I used a 1 and 5/8″ Dritz buckle. This meant reducing the width of the belt pattern piece.

frida belt

As you can see, I used eyelets for the belt, and they came out rather nicely.  The belt pulls the waist in quite a bit, which I like, but if you prefer a straighter silhouette, the pattern shows some lovely examples of Frida without the belt.  It looks awesome in chambray.

I added a few custom details.  First, I French seamed wherever possible.  (Did you know the French call it an English seam? Heh.) Second, I used bias tape on the edge of the neck facing and around the pocket bags to make the inside look more finished.

frida pocket bag

And I added in the included label. I do love a custom label.

frida tag 2

All of the packaging for Wear Lemonade is really brilliant.

The pattern itself has an instruction booklet with step-by-step photos included.  The instructions are written in French and English.  Sometimes the English translation is a little off, but unless you are new to sewing, you shouldn’t have any difficulties.

I finished off with a handsewn hem.

frida hem

Here I am wearing my new dress.  I think it would be lovely with a petticoat underneath for a vintage look, but it is waaay to hot here right now for any fancy styling.

frida side

Au revoir!

Leave a Reply

